MUSIKOS | Μουσικός

Our Mission

Musikos is a student-led musical collective formed with the mission to provide collaborative performances to Oberlin. Core to Musikos is engagement between Oberlin College, Conservatory, and its larger Community in the form of eclectic programming and engaging performance in new and diverse spaces.

~ Upcoming Performances ~

"Chamber Celebration" - Dec 4th 
Sacred Heart Catholic Church

We will be having a chamber music celebration this coming December 4th! Chamber groups from Oberlin will be presenting works by Mendelssohn, Shulamit Ran, and Paquito D’Rivera! 

Felix Mendelssohn String Quartet No. 1, Op. 12

Felix Mendelssohn String Quartet No. 5, Op. 44 No. 3

Shulamit Ran: Birkat Haderekh: Blessing for the Road

Paquito D’Rivera: Brass Quintet

"Sound Painting" - date TBD Slow Train Cafe, Downtown

Sound Painting is a live composing sign language where music and the composition are created in real time. While there is a sign for free improvisation, there are no improvisation skills required making it easy and accessible to all musicians. Oberlin's Sound Painting Ensemble is conducted by Bassoon Professor Drew Pattinson and will be featured as a performance at The Slow Train Cafe in downtown Oberlin! 

~ Past Performances ~

"Music about Music" - Nov 20th First United Methodist Church

Our  concert, “Music About Music,” explores a set of works that all deal with music, our relationship to it, and what meaning it carries. 

Featured on this concert are two world premieres by Oberlin Student, Aaron Lieberman: Peter Quince at the Clavier and The Rejoicing Well for Trio and Narrator

Charles Ives: "Down East" and "General William Booth Enters Into Heaven" for Voice and Piano  

Leslie Bassett: Nine Duo-Inventons for Two Cellos

Wynton Marsalis: Fiddle Dance Suite 

Wallace Stevens (arr. Lieberman): Peter Quince at the Clavier 
Aaron Lieberman: The Rejoicing Well for Trio and Narrator 

"OKTO|OCTΩ" - Oct 29th
Kulas Recital Hall

Our opening concert for the 2022/23 season features 24 student musicians from Oberlin Conservatory performing 3 String Octets! 

Featured on this concert is the World Premiere of Sasha Paris-Carter's Octet: "WALLS, NAILS, FACE," a tribute to the meditative aspects of pop music, and honors the feminine, queer, and fashion subtexts of such music. 

Sasha Paris-Carter "WALLS, NAILS, FACE" *World Premiere* 

Dmitry Shostakovich Two Pieces for String Octet, Op. 10

Felix Mendelssohn String Octet in Eb Major, Op. 20 

"The Singing Crows" - Sept 24
Stull Recital Hall

The Singing Crows, an Oberlin based string quartet, presents a program filled with mystery and excitement.

Opening the program is a collage of Bach Chorales, Gesualdo Madrigals, and Traditional Folk Tunes from The Danish String Quartet's "Woodworks" and "Last Leaf"

Finally, the program will end with György Ligeti's enormous String Quartet No. 1 "Metamorphosis Nocturnes." 

The Singing Crows:
Max Ball, Amina Knapp - Violin
Felix Veser - Viola
Daniel Knapp - Cello

"Polyhymnia" - April 24th
First United Methodist Church

Our inaugural concert will be a large-scale celebration of new music and the world of cello chamber music. 

Polyhymnia will feature three new commissions for cello trio, quartet, and quintet, from Oberlin composers Aaron Lieberman, Miles Reed, and Sam Friedman. finishing off the program will be 14 cellists from the studio of Dmitry Kouzov presenting the incredible Julius Klengel Hymnus for 12 cellos.

Aaron Lieberman "Four Verses of Shenandoah" for Cello Quartet 

Sam Friedman "Wastelands" for Cello Quintet

Miles Reed "Thread, Bloom, Glisten" for Cello Trio

Julius Klengel Hymnus für 12 Celli, with soloist Dmitry Kouzov